Board of Directors

A Simple Purpose:
Ensure the Success of UMA

The Upper Mississippi Academy Board of Directors is ultimately responsible for the success of the students and the school. From direction of the school’s strategy and finances to oversight of school activities, the board works to make sure the school continues to operate smoothly and maintains a high priority for student education and well-being.

Our first elected Board assumed their responsibilities at the July 2016 Board meeting. In accordance with new charter school statutes, the previous Board was appointed in 2013, UMA’s first year of operation.

Board Meeting Information

Regular meetings take place on a monthly basis, and special meetings are called as needed.

UMA Board of Directors meets on the third Tuesday of each month from 4:45 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. at UMA, unless otherwise noted.  Meetings are open to the public and all are welcome to attend. Check the UMA Calendar for dates.

Please scroll to the bottom of this page for an archive of meeting minutes by school year.

2018-2019 Board of Directors

The Board of Directors includes UMA staff members, current parents, and community members, all of whom come from a wide array of backgrounds. Through this diversity, the Board is able to incorporate a wonderfully broad and holistic approach to managing and maintaining general school functions.

Joseph Klancher,UMA Board President
UMA Community Member
Research Safety Program Manager, University of Minnesota
Email Joseph

Lesley Ernst, UMA Board Secretary
UMA Special Education Teacher & Coordinator
Email Lesley

Genna Thompson, UMA Board Treasurer
UMA Special Education Teacher
Email Genna

Jody Delau
UMA Parent
Principal, Minneapolis Public Schools
Email Jody

Jennifer Haas
UMA Parent
Deputy CIO, University of St. Thomas
Email Jennifer

John Orenstein
UMA Community Member
Ross & Orenstein, LLC
Email John

Chris Svensrud
UMA Parent
Owner/Founder, Mogotani Fast
Email Chris

Dan Trockman
UMA Community Member
Manager of IT and Training, Gardner Builders
Email Dan

Meeting Minutes

Governing Policies